Day 3: The City of York and Le Bistro Des Amis

Today is my birthday!  Happy Birthday to me! Waking up early and opening my pressies, which included a 3 course lunch for two (with champagne) at Gordon Ramsay’s Savoy Restaurant in London (oh laa I’ll have to review that!) we soon had to rush to get ready in order to catch our 9:16 train to York! From Skipton Train Station, which is only a 5 minute walk away from our cottage, the journey took roughly 1 hour and 17 minutes with one change at Leeds. I was looking forward to York, as I have been told it is much like my home city of Canterbury that I do adore – and it’s true!  It’s like a bigger, more posh (if possible) version of Canterbury. First we visited the National Railway Museum, conveniently situated right next door to York Train Station.

It is also conveniently free, but with suggested donation boxes darted around the place – I felt generous and donated the advisable £3 because looking in on some of the old carriages, especially those used by royalty, was quite enjoyable. IMG_1328 It wasn’t too much longer until we were in Jorvik – the Viking Museum!  Vikings are cool right?  If you like Vikings then I suggest you go here, but don’t expect to be completely blown away.  It’s funny because one of the main historical attractions in Canterbury is The Canterbury Tales – an ‘interactive’ exhibit where Jeffrey Chaucer’s famous play is spoken into your ears, whilst you’re walking around a ‘reconstruction’ of the story, as it was back in Chaucer’s time, accompanied with strange smells and weird creepy mannequins.

Unfortunately not my pic, from visityork.org

Unfortunately not my pic, from visityork.org

And well, the Viking Museum opted for the same (dated) entertainment, but instead of walking you’re taken around a realistic Viking town by a sort of roller coaster thing, at a really slow speed.  At £10.25, it may be a bit steep to some, but was quite comical (and oddly educational) for us! Then we visited York Minster – reminding me a lot of Canterbury’s Cathedral – what are all these York and Canterbury parallels?! It was £10 to visit, or £15 to also go up the tower – which sadly had allocated times hours away from when we arrived.  A bit annoying, but the lady at the counter told us this was due to low staff, so it probably isn’t like this all year round. IMG_1334 IMG_1335 IMG_1336 IMG_1337 When we were finished wandering around the big church/cathedral like building (what is the difference between that and a minister?), we did a bit of shopping, which York can offer quite a variety of, before having tea at the Teddy Bear Tea Rooms. There’s a host of different tea rooms you can visit around York – we saw more you could shake a stick at – but I quite enjoyed the uneven rooms in the top floors of the Teddy Bear Tea Rooms, that look over the narrow York Streets and where you can get a pot of tea and cake for just £4.90!  (Except I chose the chocolate chip cookie.)  David got the brie and bacon sandwich that also looked quite tasty. IMG_1339 IMG_1338 IMG_1341 IMG_1343 Surprisingly time went by quite quickly and we soon found ourselves on a busy train back to Skipton. Instead of going back to cottage right away, we went straight up the High Street to get dinner – I decided whilst still on the train I liked the sound of Le Bistro Des Amis, a French restaurant highly rated on Tripadvisor. I’m a big fan of French food, French Decor and… anything French really.  I felt right at home in this place and both me and David really enjoyed the food.  For starters I had the Duck Liver Parfait and David, the French Onion Soup. IMG_1350 IMG_1351 For main, I had the braised shoulder of lamb with haggis, although I couldn’t tell which part the haggis was.  I think it was mixed up with the lamb, like the swede was with the carrot and, not ever having haggis before, all I can say ALL of it tasted superb! IMG_1352 IMG_1353 David had the beef Bourguignon pie with mash and he left feeling as stuffed as I was! (A little more difficult than filling up a petite 5 foot 2 lady, as he’s 6 foot 4!) Overall, a fantastic birthday 🙂

Leave a Reply

